e s p r e s s o

e s p r e s s o
.
.
.

by
.
BG Flanagan©2009 USA, Azerbaijan, PRC

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

 

 

I.

 

 

O
the
pain
today

here with my not expensivest not cheapest
expresso machine spitting out
my second cup:

this morning, early riser me
in possession of the big picture, me

I
steal
the tender
rosy moments
of lil dawn away
into my dirty jeans
pockets stuffed with
promises I have
eagerly made
omigod how
many

they brim
these pockets.

II.

an’
I do
wonder:
did they take it,
did they utter the hippocratic oath

“Do No Harm First Physician”
did they, who bombed
they who attacked/packed/stacked/sacked Iraq
stilletto staccatto
humpin thumpin
M60 weapon of choice over stone throwing youths
Did they remember they were
the physicians
rendering
surgical strikes
enacting regime change?

‘n
I do
wonder
were they
proud to be uniformed
and uninformed search
and destroy agents of wannabe neocon armageddon
‘n all I wanna know is for who for what
did they go over there in the first place ‘n
most of all the biggie question is well blood, WHY?

III.

Some
one amongst
the goodole ‘merikan
ultraviolence
said
on
one
puce day
’bout ‘2004
somewhere in bugaloo Baghdad perhaps
he
or she
said, beholding the sacking of the museums
the torture of the innocents
the return to life before the 1800s
oh
the
humanity
o

the
agony:
yes an all this n more:

he
/she said:
the apprentice has left; behold
the master is here
amongst the spent uranium tank shells
death skull teeth glowing radium in
the pale puce twittering twilight
desert noon
Yes all this n more

IV.

an’
how
convenient
here in ‘Merica
to sip my easy second cup
of expresso highnote thinking
how nice it would be to have bought
the most expensive expresso machine
the one with 5 gizmos
with built in steel sharp grinders
the one with steam pressure
you never ever touch:
the one at Bloomie’s
the one which makes
my coffee before
I get my bigfat
‘Merican ass
outta bed
03:30

.

yes

all this

‘n more.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

